Reviews

9.6
Review Score

Score breakdown

Cleanliness
9.9
Comfort
9.5
Property Location
9.8
Facilities
9.5
Staff
9.9
Value
9.3

Reviews

    Jeffrey
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    August 28, 2018

    Stay in the fortresses and enjoy the river view

    Room #1 had a fabulous view of the river and the furniture was authentic period pieces that added to the charm
    Barbara
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    August 5, 2018

    Casa do Poco is an amazing house with great views and a very friendly staff

    Parking can be difficult to find, and driving through the walled city--and through a ton of tourists!--to get to Casa do Poco was a bit disconcerting. But the streets were wide enough to accommodate both cars and people, so in the end it wasn't a problem.
    We loved the fact that Casa do Poco was at the far end of the walled city, away from the shops and the crowds of tourists who come to buy high-quality Portuguese cotton and other goods. The view from our room, which looked out over the Minho River and the Spanish town of Tui, was lovely. Our room was large and comfortable, with a small sitting room between the bedroom and bathroom. The house itself has amazing rooms, woodwork, and art. We spent early mornings and late evenings upstairs in the amazing lounge area and on the outdoor patio. It's hard to describe how interesting this house is! We opted for the breakfast, which was great. And Rudolpho was a gem, treating us like family and making sure we had everything we needed.
    Cristine
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    March 31, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ricardo
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 14, 2017

    Great place! We want to go back.

    The family was fantastic. Helpful, resourceful and detailed. Breakfast was awesome. We enjoyed our stay and have recommended to friends and family back home and in Portugal.
    Liz Ging
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 24, 2017

    Beautiful and convenient

    Beautiful. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. One of the nicest places I've ever stayed
    Helen
    us

    Review Score

    10
    June 18, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Louis
    us

    Review Score

    10
    June 8, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Alan
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    September 23, 2018

    Super

    Paying tax!
    Historical building which is stylish and comfortable Very friendly hosts and excellent breakfast
    Daniel
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    July 30, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jodie the Princess Pilgrim
    au

    Review Score

    10
    May 24, 2018

    Best stay on the Portuguese Camino

    The accommodation is pretty spectacular. The lovingly restored manor house is over 300 years old with a view my photos will not do any justice. The caretakers of the property are divine, and great us with cool water, biscuits and a warm smile - it’s that’s genuine Portuguese hospitality!! The rooms are spotlessly clean, the linen is beautiful and for those that need wifi it has that as well. Make sure you have breakfast as it is lovingly and generously put out. Then the give you a bag to make lunch and take with you - so kind!
    Andy Painter
    gb

    Review Score

    10
    April 8, 2018

    We would definitely stay here again. We loved it!

    Fantastic helpful staff with great English. They found space for us even though we turned up cold and wet.
    Donald
    us

    Review Score

    10
    September 22, 2017

    A beautiful old home (check out the library) to take a rest in Valenca, Portugal.

    Can't think of anything.
    We were walking the Portuguese Camino and decided to treat ourselves. We were greeted in a very friendly manner. He brought us water and cookies when we checked in and later a pot of tea. We left very early to continue on the Camino so missed breakfast. However he was awake and gave us a bag of fruit to take with us. Can't say enough nice things about the hotel and the kindly people who run it.
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    August 29, 2017

    Charming and friendly

    Perhaps some yogurt for breakfast, and better cereal selection? But what was served was of very good quality, especially the fresh bread!
    Very friendly family who owns the hotel. Beautiful property with a lot of charm and personal touches. Very large, comfortable room, several sitting areas on different floors. Only wish there was an honor bar, in library perhaps, would have been lovely to have a nightcap there
    Ian
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    July 16, 2017

    Wonderful small boutique hotel

    No air conditioning
    Very friendly staff, magnificent view from our window
    TheresaM
    nz

    Review Score

    10
    May 10, 2017

    Don't sray anywhere but here!!

    This couldn't have been improved on
    Everything was incredible. ...house full of antiques and art. Helpful friendly, caring staff. Stunning view from lounge. Portico window in room. Delicious breakfast eaten with silver cutlery and fine China
    Eugene
    ie

    Review Score

    10
    April 26, 2017

    Great stay

    Our stay was excellent. The house is beautiful - situated within the old fort of valenca. The room was great. The breakfast was lovely. The sitting room was great. The staff were so helpful. They showed us around the house and into the neighbouring chapel. When we returned after our evening meal they gave us port in the sitting room.